Pinch+Pangaea Sat Nov 8


Joining Pinch and Pangaea is Doctor Jeep, Damian Silva and Dumka.

Pinch is known for many things bass related – whether it’s his productions/remixes, DJ sets, labels or events, he has excelled at all levels. His Subloaded night, operating since 2004, brought dubstep to Bristol – the scene’s first destination outside of London’s conceptual FWD>> at Plastic People. By 2008, Subloaded was pulling in over 1000 heads for each event and the Bristol dubstep scene was thriving, Pinch at the helm of it all.

Pangaea (a.k.a. Kevin McAuley) is something of a mystery. On the one hand, he’s one third of the braintrust behind Hessle Audio, a label that’s widely recognized as one of the most innovative and respected imprints in electronic music. On the other, he’s someone who seemingly prefers to operate in the background, often allowing his partners Ben UFO and Pearson Sound to do the talking and soak up the accolades. As such, Pangaea’s talents and body of work can sometimes be overlooked, despite the fact that he’s been responsible for a steady stream of quality tracks over the past seven years.

Doctor Jeep is a 24-year old New York native known to most as Andre Lira. While attending college in Boston he quickly gained notoriety as one of the city’s most eclectic young selectors, blending upbeat house and techno with the global sounds of baile funk, dancehall, old-school uk garage, african percussionism and more. With DJ sets mixing the past, present, and future of dance music in some of Boston and New York’s best clubs, he has proven to adapt to any vibe and make it his own style of party.

RSVP to to ensure entry. The show is 21+ and the location is TBA.

Two Huge New LPs, Released in a Matter of Hours


At the end of the day yesterday, we were pleasantly surprised by the full-album release from Popcaan, entitled Where We Come From. With classics like “The System” and “Everything Nice” contained within, Popcaan’s first full-length [iTunes] is rife with energy, uplifting ideas and a somber, pensive attitude well-aware of today’s bizarre world. The release come with an essay from Wayne Marshall, aka Wayne and Wax, a Cambridge resident, technomusicologist and multi-year Together collaborator. As he says:

In turns uplifting and haunting, reverent and rude, Where We Come From gives voice, as the best reggae does, to the contradictions of life in a society rife with inequities and yet so rich. Whether odes to the ghetto or the good life, Popcaan’s lyrics bring realist portraits and utopian visions into dynamic tension. Songs about struggle and sex and happiness occupy the same space because they do. And whatever the topic, Popcaan’s infectious positivity comes through.

With his mentor–the mighty Vybz Cartel–put in prison, Popcaan carries the torch of forward-thinking dancehall by featuring the productions of the Mixpak crew, mainly Dubble Dutch and Dre Skull (who we brought to town in 2012). All told, they are redefining the sound, one of the most important musics in the world.

Wayne’s entire essay is well worth a read. Click through and read as you listen to this remarkable album:

Then there’s Martyn.

Martyn came from the true dubstep tradition, itself an offshoot of dub reggae, so maybe these two artists are not as different as you might think. Since he came up as a dubstep producer, he has also flexed his sound, taking input from various disparate sources to create a new energy. His album premiered this morning via Thump, the “EDM” arm of Vice Magazine. Just as Wayne’s essay on Popcaan is essential reading, so is Martyn’s interview with Thump:

What I tried to do was let my guard down and have other people influence me. Some people just have better ideas than me, ha, it sucks. It’s just hard to hard to admit that because when you’re making music, you’re supposed to be quite confident about your own abilities. Now though, I see it as maybe you’re actually more confident about your own music if you can let people in.

We love Martyn, and most recently had him at Make It New in 2013. Read his in depth interview as you listen to his remarkable third album, The Air Between Words:

The Air Between Words come out officially on the excellent Ninja Tune Records June 16th. We’ll remind you over on Twitter.

Inside the Mmmmaven Project, we teach how to make music like this. Music that is alive, vibrant and fresh. Music that uses technology to create its own unique language. Inside, we believe that not only should music use technology, or not just that music and technology can work well in tandem but in fact that:

Music and technology are the same thing.

Body High drops free end of year compilation

It has been a massive year for the Los Angles based label Body High with release from the likes of Todd Edwards, buy cialis DJ Sliink, for sale and DJ Funeral. To celebrate the closing of the year the collective has dropped a free release with a collection of tracks highlighting Body Highs unique and forward thinking take on bass music. The track-list includes new original tunes from the likes of MMMMaven favorite Jerome LOL (check out his mix at Make it New here), Myrryrs, Pipes, Floyd Campbell, label head Samo Sound Boy and remixes by The Rhythm Method, Delivery, and Jim-E Stack.  Body High, with its high energy and progressive mentality, will be one to watch in the forthcoming year.

Grab the full release here:

1. Myrryrs – Vapors
2. DJ Sliink – Put Cha Back In It (The Rhythm Method Mix)
3. Samo Sound Boy & Floyd Campbell – 12 Min
4. Jerome LOL – House Track 4 Sam
5. DJ Sliink – Emergency (Delivery Remix)
6. Kirko Bangz – Drank In My Cup (Jim-E Stack Remix)
7. Pipes – No Tea